Confessions of a Bibliophile

I’m guessing your thoughts go about like this: “bibliophile? What in the world is that?!” Well, my dear friends, it means that I like big books and I cannot lie. Ever since I picked up Harry Potter in second grade my life has never been the same. I love books. I’ve been so many places and met so many interesting people through them. Since graduating, I’ve had so much time! My book list had grown while I was busy with school and I’ve been super excited to gradually go through it and read all of the wonderful books that I’ve been dreaming of reading. As I’ve been reading, I’ve thought of all the wonderful books I’ve read and that I should share some of my favorites with you. I thought that since it was summer and we have a little more time on our hands, I’d share my top 10 book list (Mara’s last post inspired me a little bit in this). It’ll be a little of everything, from classics to mushy teen fiction. Hopefully, you’ll see something worth your while (or think of something on your book list) and head to your local library or bookstore and pick up a portable adventure to keep you company while basking in the sun!

1. The Lady Emily Series by Tasha Alexander
I didn’t put any of these books in a specific order, I just wrote them as I went. That being said, there’s a reason I thought of this series first. They are SO wonderful! The main character, Lady Emily, is a British aristocrat in Victorian London who ends up thrown into different crimes and solves them. Basically, Downton Abbey and Sherlock Holmes all in one. Also, her main beau will capture your heart, ladies.

2. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
This is one of her less famous novels, but probably my favorite ( don’t worry, Pride and Prejudice is a close second). It’s classic Jane Austen, with your spunky heroine and a nice British gentleman at her heels.

3. The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth
My friend came up to me one day and placed the first in this series on my lap saying, “these are awesome, read it!” How can I say no to that? I’m glad I didn’t because she was right. I haven’t read the last book, but the first two were quick paced and full of twists, turns, and adventure. You’ll read the first in one sitting.

4. The Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke
I read these quite a while ago, but I always see them and remember how much I loved them. These are on my to read again list for the summer. They throw you into a world of your favorite books and characters in a whole new way and will leave you reading out loud and hoping for months after (you’ll know what I mean when you read them!).

5. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
This is on my to-read list. I haven’t actually read it yet, but so many people have told me it’s fabulous that I thought it belonged on this list.

6. The Fault in our Stars by John Green
I read this in two days and cried a lot. It’s super real and super sad, but will make you think about lots of things. I just saw the movie, which was alright. But, no surprise, the book is better.

7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
My inner hipster always comes out when I talk about this book because I read it way before it was cool. I randomly picked it up in high school and have been recommending it ever since. I think everything to do with World War II is fascinating, which made me buy it. It’s very different and in an interesting perspective.

8. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
These are just an odd set of books. They might seem depressing, but you just keep reading because you keep rooting for the Baudelaire children, hoping one day something will go well for them. Lemony Snicket is pretty hilarious. He signed one of my books, writing on one of the pages “read no further.” It just made me want to keep going and I’m glad I did!

9. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
This book is just unique and beautiful and romantic. The writing is great and wraps you up in a strange world full of mystery and magic. I started and found myself at the end in one sitting.

10. A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers
I read this book while in Rome, which was a perfect backdrop for this book about a Christian Martyr. I don’t read Christian fiction very often, but a friend recommended this one to me. It’s part of a trilogy, though I’ve only read this one. It throws you into the world of a Christian during a time when it was dangerous to be one. The main character goes through trials and challenges all while trying to live her life in the name of The Lord. It’s very captivating and makes you realize how lucky we are to live where we do.

There you are my lovely friends. Happy reading!

Love, Em

20140712-152439-55479585.jpg

