An Homage to my College Soundtrack

avett-brothers

In reflection of my soon fading undergraduate career, it is difficult to find the right adjective for these four years. I have found myself experience the depth of every emotion there is, for better or worse. At each of these moments dear friends and great music have accompanied me. I realized today I keep coming back to the same songs: certain songs hold my hand through the bad, and others party with me through the good. And so, I decided (as a token of my affection and appreciation) to pay homage to the songs that have been dearest to me during these four years.

Hit it!

(These are in roughly chronological order of when they became dear to me.)

The Atonement Soundtrack (here)

I have written every single one of my papers while listening to this soundtrack. I’m not even sure I can write a paper without it. The songs from this soundtrack are my most listened tracks on iTunes. You could say it’s an obsession.

Love Lost

This is one of those songs I love so much that I don’t know what to say about it! I listen to it in every mood. It’s my trusted companion. No matter how lazy I am, I can always run to this song. Fun fact: I really love the music video even though there’s a kid that pukes at the end of it.

Flightless Bird, American Mouth (Iron and Wine)

Ballad of Love and Hate AND I and Love and You (Avett Brothers)

The aforementioned songs are my late night go-to. Just contemplative enough but they don’t push me into the realm of too much emotion… These songs feel like home to me.

All Will Be Well (Gabe Dixon Band)

I listen to this when I need to know that, in fact, all WILL be well. Came especially in handy sophomore year. I remember many afternoons of having tea at my dear friend’s apartment and listening to this song for solace.

Le Vie en Rose (Edith Piaf)

 Not exactly sure why this song caught my fancy, but it triggered a deep love for French music within me. Thanks, Edith!

Some Nights (FUN) and Tongue Tied (Grouplove)

The two songs above were the soundtrack of my summer of 2012: my first summer in the city, the first time I ever liked summer or going to the beach. It was truly one of the happiest times in my life! Every time I hear either song I can feel the lake water in my hair and my arm hanging out the car window and I sing at the top of my lungs.

Jar of Hearts (Christina Perri)

Simply put: this song was the outlet for most of my angst. It held a special place in the hearts of my close girl friends as well 😉

This Bitter Earth/On the Nature of Daylight (From Shutter Island)

Honestly, I just love to cry to this song. Sometimes you need a good cry but you just need a catalyst. This coaxes the tears out of me every time. Just stunning!

Of Monsters and Men (here)

All of it… Every song fuels my homework.

O Soave Fanciulla

I am obsessed with opera in general—especially La Boheme—but this piece in particular is that song I listen to and belt when all of my roommates leave. I’m sure my neighbors just love it hahaha.

The Girl (City and Colour)

Last but certainly not least… I discovered this song this summer and decided it is possibly my favorite song of all time. Listening to this puts me in an instant good mood. I dream of being serenaded with this song (hear ye, hear ye secret admirers hahaha).

